Emmanuel Pi Djob is an authentic Prince NdogSul Bassa from Cameroon. Deeply inspired by African American Gospel, his unique voice won the recognition of his peers. But it is in his approach to Afro-Soul music that he finds full artistic sensitivity to the world’s vibrations.

From the Dixie Hummingbirds to Rhoda Scott, including the Five Blind Boys Of Alabama, the band Ma Case, Olivier Tshimanga, Doudou Gouiran, Lavelle, the Duke Orchestra, Georges Seba, the Golden Gate Quartet, Liz Mc Comb, Were-Were Liking and the Village Ki-Yi, Ray Lema, Pierre Akendengue, Soriba Kouyaté or Screaming Jay Hawkins… his career is marked and enriched by encounters and partnerships. Since he is open to all kinds of music, he receives invitations from artists such as the band Rinocérôse. It also offers him the opportunity to record the music of John Adams with the Orchestra of Montpellier.

The story begins in Cameroon when Pi Djob Emmanuel Pi participates in Yaounde in founding Bayembi’s International, a Pan-African gospel band that is going to be quite famous at the turn of the 1990s. He then leaves his native region, Bassa, to settle in France and continue the adventure with a mixture of African, American, but also European style Gospel through various bands, such as the Black & White Xperience or By the Gospel River.

Today, the music of Emmanuel Pi Djob draws from its roots and influences to create a powerful Afro-Soul driven by the bright density of African beats, the dark raspiness of Blues, the ecstatic vibrancy of Gospel and the pure emotion of Soul. The Afro-Soul Gang founded with two companions and partners, Benilde Foko and Sega Seck, accompanies him regularly and holds together wonderfully this enriching world.

Released in 2008, Seven Minutes is the first album that carries his own name. It deals with the death penalty; the show From Jailnight will later be based on it. He works with the Spanish label Coda (Temps Record) to record a series of albums entitled Terrassa’s Conversessions, Remember and The Miracle of Life released in 2010.

In 2013, he is one of the finalists in the French version of the television show The Voice. In the blind audition, he immediately convinces and stuns all the jury with his interpretation of Georgia On My Mind, and wins popularity with the public throughout the rest of the competition. Following is the show Me and Ray where Emmanuel combines his own repertoire with that of one of his major influences, Ray Charles.

In 2015, Pi Djob starts preparing the album Get on Board! as an invitation to discover his world imbued with humanity, tolerance, spirit and commitment. He travels across France (Solidays, New Morning, various Jazz festivals and World Music) and abroad (Europe, North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa) performing both in small shows and huge, spectacular events. That is how, in January 2016, he gathers more than 3000 spectators in the Zénith concert hall of Montpellier around his extended Afro-Soul Gang, accompanied by the Afro-Soul Mass Choir of 500 singers. The whole concert was recorded and published on a DVD released at the end of the year 2016.

Distributed in digital version by the American label A-Venture Music, the resulting album in a clearly Afro-Soul style alternates R&B, Gospel, Reggae, Afrobeat as well as some titles in French. Most of the songs are recorded live by the Afro-Soul Gang, joined by David Donatien, Sydney, Christian Martinez and Thierry Ferrugia, as well as some famous guests such as William Galison, Fally Kouyaté, the Kelin-Kelin Orchestra, Francis Lalanne and Wally Badarou.

Building on this success, Pi Djob prepares in 2017 an enhanced version of Get on Board!, even more dynamic than the first one and including unreleased titles. Get on Board! DeLuxe Edition is scheduled for release in the fall of 2017, for CD and digital distribution. He is already working on the next album scheduled for 2018. Without giving too much away, we can announce that it will be called Exile Radio, featuring the great Manu Dibango.

Emmanuel Pi Djob est un authentique Prince NdogSul-Bassa, d’origine camerounaise. Sa voix s’est forgée au feu du Gospel africain américain, style dans lequel il a gagné la reconnaissance de ses pairs… Mais c’est dans sa lecture de l’Afro-Soul qu’il trouve sa plénitude d’artiste sensible aux vibrations du monde.

Des Dixie Hummingbirds à Rhoda Scott, en passant par les Five Blind Boys Of Alabama, le groupe Ma Case, Olivier Tshimanga, Doudou Gouiran, Lavelle, le Duke Orchestra, Georges Seba, le Golden Gate Quartet, Liz Mc Comb, Were-Were Liking et le Village Ki-Yi, Ray Lema, Pierre Akendengue, Soriba Kouyaté,  ou Screaming Jay Hawkins… les rencontres et collaborations jalonnent et enrichissent son parcours. Son ouverture à toute forme de musique lui permet d’être aussi invité par des artistes comme le groupe Rinocérôse ou bien d’enregistrer du John Adams avec l’Orchestre de Montpellier.

L’histoire débute au Cameroun, quand Emmanuel Pi participe à Yaoundé à la formation du Bayembi’s International, groupe de gospel panafricain qui rencontrera une jolie célébrité au tournant des années 90. Il quitte ensuite son pays Bassa natal pour s’établir en France et poursuivre l’aventure d’un gospel métissé d’Afrique et d’Amérique, mais aussi d’Europe, à travers plusieurs formations dont Black & White Xperience ou By the Gospel River parmi d’autres.

Aujourd’hui, la musique d’Emmanuel Pi Djob puise dans ses racines et dans ses influences pour créer une afro-soul puissante et habitée entre lumineuse densité des pulsations africaines, sombre raucité du Blues, éclat extatique du Gospel et émotion nue de la Soul. L’Afro-Soul Gang qui l’accompagne régulièrement, formé avec les deux complices et compagnons de route que sont Bénilde Foko et Séga Seck soutient à merveille cet univers généreux.

C’est en 2008 qu’Emmanuel Pi publie le premier album sous son nom propre, Seven Minutes, sur la thématique de la peine de mort, et dont le spectacle From Jailnight sera tiré. Il enregistre ensuite, avec le label espagnol Coda (Temps Record) une série d’albums intitulés Terrassa’s Conversessions, Remember et The Miracle of Life sortis en 2010.

En 2013, il devient demi-finaliste de l’émission The Voice. Il subjugue d’entrée le jury avec son interprétation de Georgia, et sera plébiscité par le public tout au long de son parcours. Il monte dans la foulée, le spectacle Me and Ray, où il mêle son répertoire à celui de Ray Charles qui est l’une de ses influences majeures.

A partir de 2015, Pi Djob prépare l’album Get on Board!, comme une invitation à monter à bord de son univers empreint d’une humanité à la fois tolérante, sensuelle et militante et sillonne les routes de France (Solidays, New Morning, divers festivals de Jazz et World Music) et plus largement (Europe, Maghreb, Afrique Sub-saharienne), mêlant des prestations intimistes à de grands concerts spectaculaires. C’est ainsi qu’en janvier 2016, il rassemble plus de trois mille spectateurs au Zénith de Montpellier, autour de son Afro Soul Gang élargi et accompagné de l’Afro Soul Mass Choir et ses 500 chanteurs. L’ensemble a été capté et sert d’ailleurs de matière à un DVD publié en fin de cette même année.

Résolument Afro-Soul, l’album qui en sort, et distribué uniquement en version numérique par le label américain A-Venture Music, alterne les climats entre R&B, Gospel, Reggae, Afrobeat et même quelques titres en français, pour faire encore mieux passer son message auprès des auditeurs francophones. L’essentiel des titres est enregistré live par l’Afro Soul Gang, avec la participation de David Donatien, Sydney, Christian Martinez ou encore Thierry Ferrugia, et quelques invités de renom dont William Galison, Fally Kouyaté, le Kelin-Kelin Orchestra, Francis Lalanne ou encore Wally Badarou.

Fort de ces succès, Pi Djob prépare en 2017 une version augmentée de Get on Board!, encore plus dynamique que la première, et incluant des titres inédits jusque-là. Get on Board! DeLuxe Edition sortira à l’automne 2017, en distribution physique et numérique. Et déjà, il travaille à l’album suivant, prévu pour 2018. Sans trop dévoiler ce qu’il contiendra, on peut tout de même annoncer qu’il s’appellera Exile Radio et verra la participation en invité de l’immense Manu Dibango.